News From The Couch


When The Comfort Zone Itches ….. What to do with the ho hums. 

It’s been a week, of course when isn’t it sometimes?  I have been in my studio where I spend probably 4 to 5 hours a day working on new work.  This week has been a roller coaster of ups and downs.  First I love it, then I don’t love it, then I re work it, then I wreck it and on and on and on. 

I’m back in the liking it stage which is good because the other other ones are frazzling me.  Now I can sit back for a minute and coast.   I am working in a new direction so the tendency to fall back on comfortable is really strong.  I have to remember to tell myself to go away from that for now. 

My way of changing things is to watch movies I would never watch.  Read a book I would never read and look at blogs I wouldn’t normally be attracted to.  We all get stuck in ruts.   When I see the pattern coming on it’s usually accompanied by a feeling of agitation and restlessness, like things aren’t moving quickly enough.   RUT ahead.   Whoa.

This time I slowed down for a change and enjoyed what was going on today, now.  It’s amazing how quickly the frustration ebbs away and I can feel the breeze again.  Somehow the clouds look lovely and the moment isn’t sucked up by trying to get to some place at some point in time.    

 

2 thoughts on “News From The Couch

Leave a Reply

